Chapter 4 First Impression

I chose to make an eight stage development cycle like Erik Erikson did previously. It goes as follows:

Infant to 18 Months: Safety vs Fear

18 Months to 5 Years: Moral vs Immoral

6 to 7 Years: Inclusive vs Exclusive

8 to 14 Years: Individuality vs Group Mentality

15 to 20 Years: Identity vs Anonymity

20 to 36 Years: Control vs Crisis

35 to 60 Years: Fulfillment vs Dissatisfaction

60 and Older: Contentment vs Discontentment

Safety vs Fear: When infants are beginning to develop they trust easily, but when they are afraid of something they lose that sense of trust as well as any sense of safety they felt. When there is safety there is no fear. But in the absence of safety an infant would feel fear. An infants interaction with the world around them would teach them what to fear and what not to fear. Parents play a role in that teaching as well.

Moral vs Immoral: Children are taught by their parents what is moral and what is immoral. When children do something ‘wrong’ they are disciplined by their parents. If they do something ‘right’ they are often praised. In early childhood morals are one of the basic concepts taught by parents and that moral compass tends to follow children throughout their lives.

Inclusive vs Exclusive: Children learn what they do and don’t like pretty early in life as well. If children like something they will include it into their lives. If they don’t like something they will exclude it from their lives. For example, if a child doesn’t like peas, but does like grapes, they will include grapes into their diet and exclude peas.

Individuality vs Group Mentality: As children develop into adolescents they learn how they want to express themselves individually. But they won’t always express themselves as individuals. Society targets adolescents with standards and norms to make them feel as though they need to follow the crowd and be part of a group. Their individuality could be hidden by the group that they associate with.

Identity vs Anonymity: During this stage people are figuring out what their identity truly is along with their sexuality. People often express their true identity during these years more than they did during previous years. In opposition to that some people don’t want to be noticed. They blend in with others and avoid being their own person, which is where the anonymity portion comes in.

Control vs Crisis: During this period adults want to have control of their lives. They want to have a plan that is full-proof that they can continue on for the years to come. If they don’t have a sense of control there will be crisis. A lot of people refer to this as a ‘mid-life crisis.’

Fulfillment vs Dissatisfaction: At this stage in life an individual has completed the goals they’ve set for themselves. They’ve done what they set out to do in their life. Either that or they haven’t accomplished these goals and they’re dissatisfied with their life. They can still try to reach these goals or they will settle with feeling despair due to the outcome of their life.

Contentment vs Discontentment: In the late stages of life individuals feel content with their lives. They are satisfied and aren’t wanting for more than what their life has offered them. In contrast they feel discontent. They aren’t happy with the outcome of their life and they end up being unhappy with their last stages.



One thought on “Chapter 4 First Impression

  1. It seems that your stages of life match up pretty well with Erikson’s! Just like in his model, you have listed that people go through five stages of life by the time they’re about our age, even if the breakdown is a bit different. For the most part, all of your stages seem accurate. I am, however, interested in the Moral vs. Immoral and the Inclusive vs. Exclusive stages you have. While I agree that young children are taught morals, I would think that this stage can last well into early adulthood. As people are faced with new dilemmas, new morals might come into play. I also found it facsinating that the Inclusive vs. Exclusive stage you listed was only ages six and seven. This seems to be a very short stage for discerning what you like and don’t like. Asides from these small thoughts I had while reading, I think the rest of your stages seem pretty in line with Erikson’s.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s